Santa Cruz County History - Government

Governors of California After Statehood

Governors of Californa, 1849--1895

Data from California's Legislature, published by the California State Assembly, 1984.

Term Name Party
1849-1851 Peter H. Burnett Independent Democrat
1851-1852 John McDougal Independent Democrat
1852-1856 John Bigler Democrat
1856-1858 John Neely Johnson American
1858-1860 John B. Weller Democrat
1860 Milton S. Latham Lecompton Democrat
1860-1862 John G. Downey Lecompton Democrat
1862-1863 Leland Stanford Republican
1863-1867 Frederick F. Low Union
1867-1871 Henry H. Haight Democrat
1871-1875 Newton Booth Republican
1875 Romualdo Pacheco Republican
1875-1880 William Irwin Democrat
1880-1883 George C. Perkins Republican
1883-1887 George Stoneman Democrat
1887 Washington Bartlett Democrat
1887-1891 Robert W. Waterman Republican
1891-1895 Henry H. Markham Republican


Governors of California, 1895--Present

Data from California's Legislature, published by the California State Assembly, 1984 & 2000; World Book Encyclopedia 1998; Governors of California Gallery, developed by the California State Library.

Term Name Party
1895-1899 James H. Budd Democrat
1899-1903 Henry T. Gage Republican
1903-1907 George C. Pardee Republican
1907-1911 James N. Gillett Republican
1911-1917 Hiram W. Johnson Republican
1917-1923 William D. Stephens Republican
1923-1927 Friend William Richardson Republican
1927-1931 Clement C. Young Republican
1931-1934 James Rolph, Jr. Republican
1934-1939 Frank F. Merriam Republican
1939-1943 Culbert L. Olson Democrat
1943-1953 Earl Warren Republican
1953-1959 Goodwin J. Knight Republican
1959-1967 Edmund G. "Pat" Brown Democrat
1967-1975 Ronald Reagan Republican
1975-1983 Edmund G. "Jerry" Brown, Jr. Democrat
1983-1991 George Deukmejian Republican
1991-1999 Pete Wilson Republican
1999-2003 Gray Davis (recalled) Democrat
2003-2011 Arnold Schwarzenegger Republican

View similarly tagged articles:

government, Santa Cruz


It is our continuing goal to make available a selection of articles on various subjects and places in Santa Cruz County. Certain topics, however, have yet to be researched. In other cases, we were not granted permission to use articles. The content of the articles is the responsibility of the individual author. It is the Library's intent to provide accurate local history information. However, it is not possible for the Library to completely verify the accuracy of individual articles obtained from a variety of sources. If you believe that factual statements in a local history article are incorrect and can provide documentation, please contact the Webmaster.