Santa Cruz County History - Government

City of Santa Cruz--Form of Government

1866: Incorporated as a town under the laws of the State of California.

The incorporation papers specified that the town would be governed by an elected Board of Trustees. The members of the Board selected one of their members to be the President of the Board.

1876: Received its first charter as a city

It was governed by a Mayor and Common Council consisting of four members.

1907: New City Charter

New Charter designated a Mayor as chief executive and a City Council consisting of seven members. Subsequent amendments to the charter gave a Mayor and four Commissioners both executive and administrative powers.

1948: New City Charter

It established a Council-Manager form of government, with a Mayor and six Councilmembers setting policy for the city and a city manager serving as the chief administrator of those policies.


View similarly tagged articles:

government, Santa Cruz


It is our continuing goal to make available a selection of articles on various subjects and places in Santa Cruz County. Certain topics, however, have yet to be researched. In other cases, we were not granted permission to use articles. The content of the articles is the responsibility of the individual author. It is the Library's intent to provide accurate local history information. However, it is not possible for the Library to completely verify the accuracy of individual articles obtained from a variety of sources. If you believe that factual statements in a local history article are incorrect and can provide documentation, please contact the Webmaster.