

# LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

## MONDAY, FEBRUARY 11, 2019 6:30 PM

## 1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

PRESENT:	Commissioners Martha Dexter, Nancy Gerdt, Cindy Jackson, Jim
	Landreth, Deb Tracey-Proulx and Bob White
ABSENT:	Sean Campbell
STAFF:	Director of Libraries Susan Nemitz, Assistant Director Janis O'Driscoll, and
	Administrative Assistant Ivan Sumano-Vargas

## 2. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

RESULT:	APPROVED THE AGENDA
MOVER:	Deb Tracy-Proulx
SECONDER:	Nancy Gerdt
AYES:	Dexter, Jackson, Landreth, White

#### 3. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS

None

## 4. REPORT BY LIBRARY DIRECTOR

A. Library Director's Report - February 2019

### 5. MEMBER REPORTS

The two new commissioners were introduced. Bob White, representing City of Capitola and Jim Landreth, representing City of Scotts Valley. Nancy Gerdt gave an update on the activity of the Felton Friends chapter.

## 6. CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Minutes of November 19, 2018

RESULT:	APPROVED CONSENT ITEM 6.A
MOVER:	Deb Tracy-Proulx
SECONDER:	Nancy Gerdt
AYES:	Dexter, Jackson, Landreth, White

#### 7. GENERAL BUSINESS

A. Elect Chair and Vice Chair for 2019

RESULT:	ELECTED CINDY JACKSON AS CHAIR AND DEB TRACY- PROULX AS VICE CHAIR
MOVER:	Nancy Gerdt
SECONDER:	Bob White
AYES:	Dexter, Jackson, Landreth, Tracy-Proulx

- B. Spotlight on Collections Sarah Harbison, CMS Manager Presentation
- C. Preliminary Discussion on the 2019-2020 Library Budget

The Commission reviewed and discussed the Staff Report.

D. Roles and Responsibilities of the Friends of the Library and the Branch Chapters

The Commission reviewed and discussed the Staff Report. A member of the public asked some clarifying questions.

E. Role of the Library Advisory Commission

The Commission reviewed and discussed their role. A member of the public asked some clarifying questions.

#### 8. ADJOURNMENT

Final Adjournment of the Library Advisory Commission at 8:03pm to the next Regular Meeting to be held on Monday, May 20, 2019 at 6:30 PM at the Aptos Branch Meeting Room located at 7695 Soquel Drive, Aptos, CA 95003.

Respectfully submitted, Ivan Sumano-Vargas, Clerk of the Commission