

# LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

# MONDAY, NOVEMBER 19, 2018 6:30 PM

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

**PRESENT:** Commissioners Sean Campbell, Martha Dexter (Chair), Nancy Gerdt, Cindy Jackson, and Deb Tracey-Proulx (Vice Chair)

**STAFF:** Director of Libraries Susan Nemitz, Assistant Director Janis O'Driscoll, Regional Managers Heather Norquist and Laura Whaley, and Administrative Assistant Ivan Sumano-Vargas

#### 2. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

RESULT: APPROVED THE AGENDA OF NOVEMBER 19, 2018

**MOVER:** Deb Tracey-Proulx

**SECONDER:** Nancy Gerdt

AYES: Campbell, Dexter, Jackson

#### 3. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS

Members of the public introduced themselves but no direct comments to the Commission.

#### 4. REPORT BY LIBRARY DIRECTOR

Celebrating the 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary for the Santa Cruz Public Libraries. A party will be held at the Downtown branch on the night of December 7<sup>th</sup>. Barbara Gorson officially resigned which now leaves the Commission with vacant Capitola and Scotts Valley positions.

## 5. MEMBER REPORTS

Martha reported on the Santa Cruz City Council approving the DLAC recommendation for the Downtown branch building and their approval to move forward with the mixed use building. Nancy reported on updates with Felton and their friends group.

#### 6. CONSENT CALENDAR

A. Receive Minutes of August 20, 2018

RESULT: APPROVED CONSENT ITEM 6.A

MOVER: Sean Campbell SECONDER: Cindy Jackson

**AYES:** Dexter, Gerdt, Tracey-Proulx

#### 7. GENERAL BUSINESS

A. Community-led Programming Discussion - Janis O'Driscoll
An open discussion on new theory in Community led programming.

LAC

November 19, 2018

B. SCPL Draft Lease Terms - Susan Nemitz

Susan reviewed the draft lease terms between the SCPL Joint Powers Authority and local jurisdictions.

### 8. ADJOURNMENT

Final Adjournment of the Library Advisory Commission at 8:10pm to the next Regular Meeting to be held on Monday, February 11, 2019 at 6:30 PM at the Downtown Branch Meeting Room located at 224 Church Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060.

Respectfully submitted, Ivan Sumano-Vargas, Clerk of the Commission

2