Site Search

Teens @ SCPL Teen Art & Lit — Book Reviews

4 reviews have been tagged Mystery...
Add your own review!

========================================

Legend
by Marie Lu
StarStarStarStarStar

Legend

My wife is a Youth Services librarian so our place has a constant flow of contemporary young adult books coming through. My relationship with reading a lot of youth fiction sort of ends in the late 70's, but when I saw a hard cover copy of Legend, by Marie Lu (2011) sitting on the top of a stack on the coffee table, I was intrigued enough to pick it up and give it a look. I was still reading half an hour later when my wife got home, and I finished it in a few days (confession: I am a bookaholic and thus have to discipline myself against reading entire books in a sitting - nothing else tends to get done).

So by my introduction I guess I've revealed that this will be a fairly positive review. Ms. Lu's book will be tough to describe without giving away too much, and almost anything is too much as the richness of this world is doled out with a nuanced rhythm that at the conclusion makes you painfully grateful there is a sequel (a trilogy, actually). The story begins in an unknown future time in Los Angeles, immediately recognizable as dystopian. There are two alternating narrators, both 15 years old, one male and one female, from very different circumstances, yet both prodigies of a kind. From the beginning, the author draws you purposefully into this well-imagined world, showing the reader the details that make up the story and avoiding heavy-handed exposition. I wouldn't describe the pace as relentless, but nearly so. I was able to put the book down, but not for long. The main and supporting characters are well drawn, and especially the two protagonists, make us care about them right away. I can't say enough positives about the world Ms. Lu created, as she reveals more and more detail, the reader realizes that this story stretches both forward and backward in time.

Ms. Lu credits Les Miserables as her inspiration for Legend. This and other allusions (including a lovely Dickens' one), plus fantastic plotting, pace and characterization, make this book eminently readable for any age, 12 and up. It's an obvious read-alike for Suzanne Collins', The Hunger Games, and it will surprise no one that the film is forthcoming - and this story will make a great movie.

Reviewed by johnnya on Jul 22, 2013
Browse similar: Adventure, Fantasy, Mystery, Science Fiction

Here Where the Sunbeams are Green
by Helen Phillips
StarStarStar

Here Where the Sunbeams are Green

The cover made Mad and Roo look lots younger than they are in the story. I liked the action and the interesting people. It was fun to read.

Reviewed by Madge on Jul 3, 2013
Browse similar: Adventure, Mystery

California Demon
by Julie Kenner
StarStarStarStar

California Demon

The first of a series, this book opens up with a average suburban mom. Until she starts fighting demons off that is. Your main character Kate Connor is off on an adventure by the second chapter. She is trying to find a way to balance her new life as a suburban house wife and her old life as a demon hunter. All without letting her family know and still keep them and her friends safe. It's fun and fast paced. There is nothing as exciting as chicks kicking butt. Good for anyone who is 15 and up.

Reviewed by snowbunnie on Mar 2, 2010
Browse similar: Adventure, Fantasy, Funny, Mystery

Pretty Little Devils
by Nancy Holder
StarStarStarStar

Pretty Little Devils

Pretty Little Devils is about a girl who is about and becomes one of the most popular girls in school. Only once you get into it I'm pretty sure it's not a God-send. This book is about the tale of a girl and joining the PLD's and finding out what it's like to be at the top in the middle of a crisis. Will the deaths at her school ever stop? Who is behind it all? This book will keep you guessing til the very last page.

Reviewed by snowbunnie on Mar 2, 2010
Browse similar: Mystery, Scary