Favorite Quotes

"For my totem, the alley cat. We share the situation of small predators who easily become prey. I have my equivalent of claws and teeth, and indeed my arched back and loud hiss are my best defenses. When I need to hide my size and weakness, I can look fiercer than I am, but when I cannot talk or threaten or argue my way out of trouble, then I am in a lot of trouble. We are scavengers in the alleys and streets of a society we do not control and scarcely influence. We survive and perish both by taking lovers. Freedom is a daily necessity like water, and we love most loyally and longest those who allow us at least occasionally to vanish and wander the curious night. To them we always return from the eight deaths before the last."

from Braided Lives by Marge Piercy

Reader's Link

Legend #1

The White Giraffe

Title: The White Giraffe
By: Lauren St. John

The White Giraffe is Lauren St. John’s first children’s book, and the first of a series of four novels now known as “The Legend of the Animal Healer.” The idea for this book came to St. John, who now lives in London, as she recalled growing up on a game reserve in Zimbabwe with a pet giraffe. This early experience with animals fueled her passion for wildlife conservation and adventure, key features in her books for children.

The book begins with the hero, Martine, being orphaned at age eleven in a tragic house fire and then forced to move to the Sawubona game reserve in South Africa to live with a grandmother she scarcely knows. Martine doesn’t think her grandmother likes her or wants her there, but, as the narrative unfolds, we learn there’s more to the story, including family secrets, a white giraffe no one has ever seen except for its footprints, and a mysterious healing power that legend says rests in a chosen one. Feeling isolated as only an orphan can, Martine copes with fears of poachers stalking the great animals of the reserve as well as mundane and terrifying adjustment to a new school and new classmates.

This fast-paced adventure/mystery/fantasy is a read-alike for Carl Hiaasen’s Hoot or Flush or Scat, but with an extra, fantastical twist. Both are quests to find the truth, and both are concerned with wildlife conservation, St. John’s in Africa, Hiaasen’s in the Florida swamplands. Next in the series is Dolphin Song, in which Martine and Ben continue their adventures saving wildlife.

View similarly tagged posts: fiction, kids fiction

Posted by madsenarbogastc on July 15, 2013 at 9:58 a.m.


No comments have been posted.

Post a Comment

Book Kits

To help your book discussion group, we've gathered a collection of popular paperback titles and sorted them into kits which can be sent to you upon request.

Learn more... Browse titles...