Favorite Quotes

"For my totem, the alley cat. We share the situation of small predators who easily become prey. I have my equivalent of claws and teeth, and indeed my arched back and loud hiss are my best defenses. When I need to hide my size and weakness, I can look fiercer than I am, but when I cannot talk or threaten or argue my way out of trouble, then I am in a lot of trouble. We are scavengers in the alleys and streets of a society we do not control and scarcely influence. We survive and perish both by taking lovers. Freedom is a daily necessity like water, and we love most loyally and longest those who allow us at least occasionally to vanish and wander the curious night. To them we always return from the eight deaths before the last."

from Braided Lives by Marge Piercy

Reader's Link

In the Name of Blue Demon

City of Fear

Title: City of Fear
By: David Hewson

Rome was under siege in the heat of tourist season and on the eve of the G8 summit. In the name of the Blue Demon to revive Etruscan civilization, a group of terrorists started a series of deadly attacks on the city’s officials and people, the presidential palace, the conference, and history.

Thirty-year-old Detective Nic Costa was called in personally by President Dario Sordi, a friend of his late father, to restore peace to the Eternal City. After much blood-shed, numerous fights and escapes, little did Nic know that he actually held the key to reveal the ghost of the Blue Demon, a powerful political organization in Italy, "The men behind the Blue Demon are quietly seizing every institution, carving up the proceeds between them, hoping to make sure this nation will remain theirs for generations." (p. 367)

So far, there have been nine titles in Nic Costa mysteries by David Hewson. Although living in Kent, England, Hewson is known to feature police officers in solving crimes and murders in Venice and Rome. A Season for the Dead (2003) marks the debut of Nic Costa, while the Villa of Mysteries (2004) introduces his new partners, Vice-inspector Gianni Peroni, Inspector Leo Falcone and pathologist Teresa Lupo. City of Fear is book eight in the series, in which readers can witness the maturity of Costa through his family history and life stories.

Nic Costa series

A Season for the Dead (2003)
The Villa of Mysteries (2004)
The Sacred Cut (2005)
The Lizard’s Bite (2006)
The Seventh Sacrament (2007)
The Garden of Evil (2008)
The Dante Killings (Dante's Numbers in UK) (2008)
City of Fear (The Blue Demon in UK) (2009)
The Fallen Angel (2011)

View similarly tagged posts: fiction, mystery

Posted by Hui-Lan on May 5, 2011 at 2:08 p.m.


No comments have been posted.

Post a Comment

Book Kits

To help your book discussion group, we've gathered a collection of popular paperback titles and sorted them into kits which can be sent to you upon request.

Learn more... Browse titles...

Upcoming Book Events...

Thu, Sept. 18