Explore

Read
Learn
Play
Visit
Dial-A-Story
For Parents
Kids' Home
Contact Us

For Parents

Books and Films for Parents Books & Films for Parents — your reviews...

Browsing reviews on the subject "Child Development"

How Babies Talk: The Magic and Mystery of Language in the First Three Years of Life
by Roberta Michnick Golinkoff, Ph.D.
StarStarStarStarStar

How Babies Talk: The Magic and Mystery of Language in the First Three Years of Life

I found this book fascinating! The authors discuss language development in children beginning before birth. Each chapter of the book is dedicated to a particular age range and within each chapter various language studies are discussed. They talk about how the studies are conducted, what was learned, and they include many real-life examples such as conversations between parents and their children. There is a lot of information packed in this book but the author has written it in such a way that it's easy to follow.

I now feel I have a much better understanding of how my baby's language skills are developing and what to expect as she gets older. I highly recommend checking this one out!

Reviewed by cockerillj on Aug 21, 2011

Becoming the Parent you Want to Be: A Source Book of Strategies for the First Five Years
by Laura Davis
StarStarStarStarStar

Becoming the Parent you Want to Be: A Source Book of Strategies for the First Five Years

This is a wonderful resource utilizing proactive, compassionate and 'diversity' minded philosophies. To date it is my favorite resource that covers a range of issues, ideas, etc., on being and becoming a parent.

Reviewed by OonaBesman on Jan 4, 2011

Parent's Diet Handbook
by Sue Kuivanen
StarStarStarStarStar

Parent's Diet Handbook

This book is great!

I am a public health nurse who has studied nutrition and natural healing for years, and I found tons of useful new info I needed as a parent of a young child.

If you are wondering how to feed your child more healthy, how to get your local school to feed children more organic and fresh natural food you have to check this book out!

She has a sense of humor too even while talking about scary dental issues!

Reviewed by DeidreRogers on Jul 8, 2010

The Birth to Five Book: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start
by Brenda Nixon
StarStarStarStar

The Birth to Five Book: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start

I found this book very reassuring and helpful. The chapters are only about five pages long and each one tackles a specific topic. The writing is straightforward and conversational in tone which makes it engaging and inviting. The book has four main sections: Parenting your Infant, Parenting your Toddler, Parenting your Preschooler, and Parenting Anytime. Many important topics are covered such as child development, whether or not newborns can be spoiled, breastfeeding, reading to your baby, discipline, thumb sucking, and toilet training. There is also an appendix that focuses on child development and an appendix with a list of resources by topic. As a new parent I found this book really helpful!

Reviewed by cockerillj on May 19, 2010

Child Of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense
by Ellyn Satter
StarStarStarStarStar

Child Of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense

I keep this book in the kitchen and refer to it frequently. I believe utilizing the advice within has made my daughter a good eater. Does she still smear food around and toss it on the floor? Of course, that's what toddlers do. But she also eats all different kinds of food, including vegetables, with ease and enjoyment. We can go out to eat and she behaves. I am not a neurotic mess about her diet. Those benefits are worth a lot!

Reviewed by lrelgart on Mar 12, 2010

NurtureShock: New Thinking about Children
by Po Bronson
StarStarStarStar

NurtureShock: New Thinking about Children

Bronson discusses in detail many important issues of parenting such as the following: how children are affected by praise, IQ testing, language development, how kids are affected by loss of sleep, and teen rebellion. Each chapter is dedicated to a specific topic. The discussions are backed up by the findings of numerous scientific studies and interviews which really help to clarify and solidify the point the author is making. In the chapter entitled The Inverse Power of Praise Bronson discusses how praising children may not have the consequences parents intend. Bronson shares the details of a study that focused on how children responded to being praised on their intelligence and how they responded when praised on their effort. The results of this study were striking. The children who were praised for their intelligence didn’t do well when they were challenged with more difficult tests while the children praised for their effort fared much better.

Throughout this book, I was surprised at how often the scientific studies yielded results I wouldn’t expect. I began to think differently about many different aspects of parenting and education. I think this book offers useful information for parents and educators.

Reviewed by cockerillj on Feb 16, 2010

The Baby Book
by William Sears and Martha Sears
StarStarStarStarStar

The Baby Book

Nine months into parenthood, my previously pristine copy of The Baby Book is rather dogeared and tattered. I have referred to this book on countless occasions with countless questions about physical development, illness, feeding, and sleeping. As parents, and as a physician and a nurse, the Sears' provide gentle, thoughtful advice on baby care. I highly recommend this book to any parent or caretaker of babies.

Reviewed by harbisons on Jun 22, 2009

Ages and Stages
by Karen Miller
StarStarStarStar

Ages and Stages

"The primary focus of this book is on how developmental stages and behaviors show up in group child care situations." It contains developmental descriptions and activities for children birth through eight years. The activities are clearly described and depend on simple materials. While the author intends this book to be a source of ideas for preschool/school staff and home child care providers, parents will find this a useful book to plan activities at home. More importantly, here we have descriptions of excellent child care settings so the information is very valuable to parents evaluating child care situations for their children. Easily understood summaries of child development research adds to the usefulness of the book. Illustrations would have improved the presentation, but this book is highly recommended for teachers, child care providers, and parents.

Reviewed by odriscollj on May 1, 2009

Mister Rogers' Play Time
by Fred Rogers
StarStarStarStarStar

Mister Rogers' Play Time

Play is children's work. Current research in children's brain development is proving that the most important parts of a child's world are play and meaningful relationships with adults, but Mr. Rogers knew this a long time ago: "When children play, they're working. They're working on learning about themselves, about other people, and about the world around them. Playtime is one of the most important times for children to learn and grow."

Mister Roger's PLAY TIME offers general advice about playtime and specific suggested activities about Sharing and Caring, Pretend Play, Helping, Things That Go, Feelings, Creative Fun, and Nature and Science. Each activity includes a list of materials, a description of the activity, and a summary of the skills that can be learned.

Activities are simple and inexpensive (many use recycled items). There is an index by name and type of activity. Parents of preschoolers will find many sources of family fun here.

Reviewed by odriscollj on Apr 26, 2009

Bright from the Start: The Simple, Science-Backed way to Nurture your Child's Developing Mind...
by Jill Stamm
StarStarStarStarStar

Bright from the Start: The Simple, Science-Backed way to Nurture your Child's Developing Mind...

Jill Stamm provides information about early childhood development and how parents can support their children's development from birth to age 3. She refers to multiple scientific studies to establish and clarify her points. She also discusses popular ideas such as the idea that having your young child listen to classical music will increase their IQ. In this case she discusses the study that this information originated from and how it has been mistakenly, in her opinion, applied to children. She gives parents/caregivers many ideas to support the development of their children. The book is informative, well organized, and provides a lot of practical advice.

Reviewed by cockerillj on Apr 3, 2009

I Just Got a Kitten. What Do I Do?
by Mordecai Siegal
StarStarStarStar

I Just Got a Kitten. What Do I Do?

Having problems with your new furry ball of terror? And what about those teenage years? This book offers step-by-step instructions for raising a well-adjusted cat. It also presents many helpful tips for litter box training and kitty discipline. A must read for all new kitten owners!

Reviewed by ann on Dec 30, 2008

Return to subject list