Explore

Read
Learn
Play
Visit
Dial-A-Story
For Parents
Kids' Home
Contact Us

For Parents

Books and Films for Parents Books & Films for Parents — your reviews...

Browsing reviews on the subject "Babies"

How Babies Talk: The Magic and Mystery of Language in the First Three Years of Life
by Roberta Michnick Golinkoff, Ph.D.
StarStarStarStarStar

How Babies Talk: The Magic and Mystery of Language in the First Three Years of Life

I found this book fascinating! The authors discuss language development in children beginning before birth. Each chapter of the book is dedicated to a particular age range and within each chapter various language studies are discussed. They talk about how the studies are conducted, what was learned, and they include many real-life examples such as conversations between parents and their children. There is a lot of information packed in this book but the author has written it in such a way that it's easy to follow.

I now feel I have a much better understanding of how my baby's language skills are developing and what to expect as she gets older. I highly recommend checking this one out!

Reviewed by cockerillj on Aug 21, 2011

Becoming the Parent you Want to Be: A Source Book of Strategies for the First Five Years
by Laura Davis
StarStarStarStarStar

Becoming the Parent you Want to Be: A Source Book of Strategies for the First Five Years

This is a wonderful resource utilizing proactive, compassionate and 'diversity' minded philosophies. To date it is my favorite resource that covers a range of issues, ideas, etc., on being and becoming a parent.

Reviewed by OonaBesman on Jan 4, 2011

The Birth to Five Book: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start
by Brenda Nixon
StarStarStarStar

The Birth to Five Book: Confident Childrearing Right from the Start

I found this book very reassuring and helpful. The chapters are only about five pages long and each one tackles a specific topic. The writing is straightforward and conversational in tone which makes it engaging and inviting. The book has four main sections: Parenting your Infant, Parenting your Toddler, Parenting your Preschooler, and Parenting Anytime. Many important topics are covered such as child development, whether or not newborns can be spoiled, breastfeeding, reading to your baby, discipline, thumb sucking, and toilet training. There is also an appendix that focuses on child development and an appendix with a list of resources by topic. As a new parent I found this book really helpful!

Reviewed by cockerillj on May 19, 2010

Ina May's Guide to Childbirth
by Ina May Gaskin
StarStarStarStarStar

Ina May's Guide to Childbirth

An indispensable book to anyone about to have a baby, Ina May's clear, compassionate, and informative book will give you access to the confidence and mind-body connection you need to get through the birth of your child. Certainly, if you are not into Hippie-based living, parts of this book (mostly the first half) you will want to skip. However, many stories in the first half of the book may be closer to what you will experience than you might think. Don't be fooled by the homespun sentiments--Ina May Gaskin is respected world wide as a deliverer of babies and even has a medical maneuver named after her which has doubtless saved lives and held off unnecessary c-sections. The second half of the book was what I found most inspirational. When push came to shove, so to speak, I was profoundly grateful to have read it.

Reviewed by lrelgart on Mar 12, 2010

Child Of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense
by Ellyn Satter
StarStarStarStarStar

Child Of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense

I keep this book in the kitchen and refer to it frequently. I believe utilizing the advice within has made my daughter a good eater. Does she still smear food around and toss it on the floor? Of course, that's what toddlers do. But she also eats all different kinds of food, including vegetables, with ease and enjoyment. We can go out to eat and she behaves. I am not a neurotic mess about her diet. Those benefits are worth a lot!

Reviewed by lrelgart on Mar 12, 2010

The Baby Book
by William Sears and Martha Sears
StarStarStarStarStar

The Baby Book

Nine months into parenthood, my previously pristine copy of The Baby Book is rather dogeared and tattered. I have referred to this book on countless occasions with countless questions about physical development, illness, feeding, and sleeping. As parents, and as a physician and a nurse, the Sears' provide gentle, thoughtful advice on baby care. I highly recommend this book to any parent or caretaker of babies.

Reviewed by harbisons on Jun 22, 2009

Your Developing Baby: Conception to Birth
by Peter M. Doubilet
StarStarStarStar

Your Developing Baby: Conception to Birth

Written by two professors of radiology at Harvard Medical School, the authors explain in great detail the development of babies from conception to birth. There are ultrasound images on nearly every page of this book. There are also many labeled diagrams of ultrasound images which make it much easier for non-experts to understand what they’re seeing. I found these diagrams really helpful!

There’s also a separate section of the book devoted to multiple pregnancies.

The images throughout this book are mesmerizing!

Reviewed by cockerillj on May 7, 2009

Cool Names for Babies
by Pamela Redmond Satran
StarStarStarStarStar

Cool Names for Babies

Baby name experts Satran and Rosenkrantz bring us a fresh, readable, and entertaining baby name book. By no means comprehensive, this book is fun to browse with lists called Old-Lady Cool, Celebrity Baby Names, and Literary Names. Although the baby name I chose is on their "uncool" list, I still highly recommend this book to any parent-to-be faced with the daunting task of choosing a name for their baby.

Reviewed by harbisons on Apr 23, 2009

Child of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense
by Ellyn Satter
StarStarStarStarStar

Child of Mine: Feeding with Love and Good Sense

One of the many worries a parent of a young girl can have is showing her how to establish a positive relationship with food. Did you know body image ideas can be formed as early as three years? And a relationship with food is formed before birth? Satter gives us an informative guide to feeding infants and toddlers with, well, good sense. She espouses a philosophy of moderation and accepting a child's input into the quantity of food they eat. She says, "You can't control or dictate the quantity of food your child eats, and you shouldn't try. You also can't control or dictate the kind of body your child develops, and you shouldn't try. What you can do, and it is a great deal, is set things up for your child so she, herself, can regulate her food intake as well as possible, and so she can develop a healthy body that is constitutionally right for her."
A nutritionist, Satter provides essential charts, diagrams, and nutritional information, as well as straight-forward answers that are invaluable to parents of babies and toddlers.

Reviewed by harbisons on Apr 21, 2009

Bright from the Start: The Simple, Science-Backed way to Nurture your Child's Developing Mind...
by Jill Stamm
StarStarStarStarStar

Bright from the Start: The Simple, Science-Backed way to Nurture your Child's Developing Mind...

Jill Stamm provides information about early childhood development and how parents can support their children's development from birth to age 3. She refers to multiple scientific studies to establish and clarify her points. She also discusses popular ideas such as the idea that having your young child listen to classical music will increase their IQ. In this case she discusses the study that this information originated from and how it has been mistakenly, in her opinion, applied to children. She gives parents/caregivers many ideas to support the development of their children. The book is informative, well organized, and provides a lot of practical advice.

Reviewed by cockerillj on Apr 3, 2009

I Just Got a Kitten. What Do I Do?
by Mordecai Siegal
StarStarStarStar

I Just Got a Kitten. What Do I Do?

Having problems with your new furry ball of terror? And what about those teenage years? This book offers step-by-step instructions for raising a well-adjusted cat. It also presents many helpful tips for litter box training and kitty discipline. A must read for all new kitten owners!

Reviewed by ann on Dec 30, 2008

Return to subject list