Santa Cruz County History - Articles


Browsing Local History Articles tagged "brick buildings"

It's always a surprise to discover the Fair Avenue ruins of an old yoga temple whose minarets, entry arch and ... [Read more]

Hugo Hihn, brother of Frederick A. Hihn, had the Flatiron Building constructed in 1859-60, of bricks made right in Santa ... [Read more]

The Octagon, by Margaret Koch
On March 11, 1882, the Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors began advertising for plans for a "Hall of Records" ... [Read more]

The Laguna Limekilns: Bonny Doon, by Robert W. Piwarzyk
wedge-shaped brick used in building an arch. Usually an arch brick is wedged such that it appears truncated when viewing ... [Read more]

Search Local History Articles

» Browse by Author

Explore Santa Cruz County History!

Ex-Mission Santa Cruz became Holy Cross

Following Fr. Jose Antonio Suarez Del Real's departure for Mexico in 1845, other priests, including Anzar of Mission San Juan Bautista, administered the sacraments at Ex-Mission Santa Cruz from a distance (Real to Pico 1845 CASF). From 1851 until 1854 Fr. Francisco Llebaria officiated. ..." [More]

Excerpted from Construction Chronology of the Site of Holy Cross Church: Ex-Mission Santa Cruz became Holy Cross by Edna E. Kimbro