Santa Cruz County History - Articles


Browsing Local History Articles by "City of Santa Cruz Public Works Department"

The Soquel Avenue Bridge, by City of Santa Cruz Public Works Department
There have been several bridges previously located at this site. In 1874 a covered bridge was constructed. [Read more]

Water Street Bridge Fact Sheet, by City of Santa Cruz Public Works Department
The Water Street Bridge Rehabilitation Project involved the removal and replacement of the northern half of the bridge and the ... [Read more]

Search Local History Articles

» Browse by Author

Explore Santa Cruz County History!

On March 17, 1883, the flag at the Santa Cruz lighthouse was lowered to half-mast to signal the death of Adna Hecox, the first light keeper. But this Michigan native was much more than just that, because a history of early Santa Cruz could not be written without including the ..." [More]

Excerpted from A Walk Through Time: Adna A. Hecox by Janet Krassow and Randy Krassow